Quick Printing

JUL 2013

Quick Printing is the resource for the Commercial printing, visual and graphic arts industries. Since 1977, Quick Printing has focused on improving efficiency and increasing sales and profits in the print shop. Industry experts share their ideas and

Issue link: https://quickprinting.epubxp.com/i/141230

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 5 of 35

EDITORIAL In Praise of Print Workers Behind every successful print owner is a hard-working team of professionals. By Karen Lowery Hall hen I say that response to this yearÕs Top 100 has been staggering, itÕs not hyperbole. In a single afternoon more than 100 people downloaded the PDF of the Top 100 list from MyPRINTResource. com. There were almost as many downloads of the Honorable Mention list. As it does every year, the flood of emails began as soon as the study went live. The messages tend to flow along the lines of people saying thank you or wanting information about how to get into next yearÕs list. But this year I also heard from printers who were disappointed that the Honorable Mention list was only available online. As one owner put it, "My people used to look forward to seeing our name in print, even if we were only in the Honorable Mention list." In almost every instance the core of the message was that they felt that QP had let down their employees by not printing the Honorable Mention list. The reasons it was done this way are immaterial. The buck stops on my desk, and I sincerely apologize to everyone who was disappointed by this. Every company in the Honorable Mention list produced annual sales of at least $1 millionÑmost reported significantly moreÑand they deserve recognition for that achievement. The thing is, though, when you read Top 100 and the Honorable Mention lists, the only names that appear are those of the company leaders. And they are always the first ones to make the point that their success would not be possible without the contributions of their employees. Almost every truly successful owner IÕve ever met or interviewed has insisted that their staff was best anyone could ask for. They want to give credit where credit is due, and so do I. So I would like to take this opportunity to honor the people who almost never see their names in print. Thank you to all the men and women who run the presses, keep the mail pieces flowing, wrestle digital files into compliance, balance the books, put the finishing touch on every job, design and create beautiful documents, keep the customers happy, stock the ink and paper, sweep the floors, manage the social media, and do the hundred other daily jobs a printing company requires. You are the people who keep this entire industry running. Without you, all the words and images would disappear. Thank you for your hard work and dedication. Thank you for choosing to apply your talents to the world of print. ◗◗ W "Accept that interpersonal behaviors are more essential to job success and print-driven requirements are trainable." —Debra Thompson www.MyPRINTResource.com PUBLISHER Kelley Holmes 800-616-2252 x6104 kelley@quickprinting.com EDITOR Karen Lowery Hall 800-616-2252 x6108 karen@quickprinting.com Senior Consultant Bob Hall browndawg@aol.com Sr. Contributing Columnists Tom Crouser David Fellman John Giles tom@crouser.com dmf@davefellman.com john@johngiles.com Contributing Columnists David Claerbaut Nancy DeDiemar Mitch Evans Steve Johnson Stuart Margolis Joe Rickard Tawnya Starr Debra Thompson drdc46@yahoo.com nancy91762@gmail.com mitch@mitchevansconsulting.com steve@copresco.com bPfaff@margolisbecker.com jrickard@intellectives.com tawnya.starr@firespring.com debra@tgassociates.com CORPORATE OFFICE 3 Huntington Quadrangle, Suite 301 North Melville, NY 11747 Phone: 800-308-6397 Fax: 631-845-2741 Account Executives Kimberly Jorgensen x6103 kimberly@quickprinting.com Paul Zimmerman x6214 paul@quickprinting.com Production Manager Tina Kennedy x6253 tina.kennedy@cygnus.com Art Director john.sidor@cygnus.com John Sidor x6362 European Sales Representative, ITSL Media Julian Maddocks-Born, Sales Director julian@itsluk.com, +44 (0)1442 230033 Benedict Hume, Sales Manager benedict@itsluk.com, direct line +44 (0)1442 288287 CIRCULATION Jackie Dandoy x1711 jackie.dandoy@cygnus.com For change of address or subscription information, call 877-382-9187, fax 920-563-1704, or circ.quickprinting@omeda.com REPRINT SERVICE For reprints and licensing, please contact Nick Iademarco at Wright's Media 877-652-5295 ext. 102 or niademarco@wrightsmedia.com LIST RENTALS Elizabeth Jackson 847-492-1350 x18 ejackson@meritdirect.com CEO John French CFO Paul Bonaiuto SVP, Strategy & Business Development Blair Johnson VP, Marketing Gerry Whitty VP, Audience Development Julie Nachtigal VP, Technology Eric Kammerzelt VP, Production Operations Curt Pordes VP, Human Resources Ed Wood Q U I C K P R I N T I N G • P R I N T I N G N E W S • W I D E - F O R M A T I M A G I N G Visit the QP blogs at www.MyPRINTResource.com/blogs. 6 QUICK PRINTING / July 2013 w w w. q u i c k p r i n t i n g . c o m

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Quick Printing - JUL 2013